Posted: April 17, 2011 in 66CRUSHER, OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASES

Norwegian Progressive Metallers 66CRUSHER have announced the details of their sophomore album ”Blackest Day”,  which is scheduled for release on Misanthropica Enterprises on the 20th May.   This is the second release from 66CRUSHER on the San Diego, California, based label, which had previously released the band’s much acclaimed debut album ”Truth Unmasked”.  Guitars, vocals, bass and keys on ”Blackest Day” were recorded by the band themselves, but the rest was handled at Bergen’s Conclave and Earshot Studios, by two of Norway’s leading producers and musicians.  Bjornar Nilsen (VULTURE INDUSTRIES, BLACK HOLE GENERATOR), known for his work with HELHEIM and TAAKE, amongst others, recorded the drums, whilst the mixing was done by Herbrand Larsen (ENSLAVED, AUDREY HORNE). Track listing for ”Blackest Day” as follows:

1  Blackest day
2  Recreated reality
3  Unsaid
4  Concept of elimination
5  Recreated reality
6  Borderline
7  Shipwrecked
8  Diminished mind
9  Us beneath the sea

Incorporating Progressive Elements combined with Classical Metal and Thrash, 66CRUSHER, whose music has been decscribed as ”brilliant, brutal and beautiful”, was formed in the late 1990’s in Bergen, Norway, by frontman and guitarist Jarle Olsvoll and former DEVAR drummer Håkon Obdsaija Bergstad.  It wasn’t until 2001-02, when  guitarist Jonny Wolf and bassplayer Øystein Kummen joined the ranks, that the band really started to take off, releasing a couple of demos and playing local dates.  In 2007 Misanthropica Enterprises signed the band and released ”Truth Unmased”, which led to more live appearances, including the national final of Wacken Metal Batttle.  In 2009 Wolf left the band and was replaced by Martin Legreid of HELLISH OUTCAST, a highly respected guitarist, who is regarded by the new generation of fans as the godfather of Bergen’s Thrash/Death Metal scene.

66CRUSHER will launch ”Blackest Day” with a show at Hulen in Bergen on the 20th May.  More information about the band can be found at

Below you can see the official promo video for the track “Blackest Day”.

Band Contact & Booking:
Management & Booking:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s