The long-awaited details about which vocalists would be featuring on “8 ½ – Feberdrömmar I Vaket Tillstånd”, the new album from Sweden’s SHINING, have been announced today, and not unsurprisingly Niklas Kvarforth has chosen some of the most iconic frontmen from the Extreme Metal genre, as well as a some perhaps surprising choices, to take part in the project. Track listing on “8 ½ – Feberdrömmar I Vaket Tillstånd”and featured vocalists as follows:

1. Terres Des Anonymes featuring FAMINE of PESTE NOIRE
2. Szabadulj Meg Önmagadtól featuring ATTILA CSIHAR of MAYHEM, TORMENTOR
3. Ett Liv Utan Mening featuring PEHR LARSSON of ALFAHANNE
4. Selvdestruktivitetens Emissarie featuring GAAHL of GOD SEED, WARDRUNA, EX GORGOROTH
5. Black Industrial Misery featuring  MANIAC of SKITLIV, EX MAYHEM
6. Through Corridors Of Oppression featuring  KVARFORTH himself

The six songs on “8 ½ – Feberdrömmar I Vaket Tillstånd” date back to SHINING’s “Livets Ändhållplats” and “Angst” era and are in their original pre-production form, with the addition of newly recorded bass and guitars as well as Lars Fredrik Fröslie on keyboards (ANGST SKVADRON, WOBBLER, ASMEGIN), which the band didn’t start using until their sixth album.  Set for release on DARK ESSENCE RECORDS on the 23rd September “8 ½ – Feberdrömmar I Vaket Tillstånd” will be available both in CD and limited edition black or white 12” vinyl versions, with liner notes by Niklas Kvarforth. All three versions are now available to pre-order from Dark Essence Records at http://karismarecords.bigcartel.com/artist/shining or direct from the band at http://www.shininglegions.com/.

SHINING founder and frontman Niklas Kvarforth has wanted to do this project for many years now, and he allowed all the vocalists free reign to interpret the songs as they wished and also to sing in their own native languages.  Something that Dark Essence’s Martin Kvam feels fits right in with the label’s ethos of mixing tradition with innovation.  “With “28 ½ – Feberdrömmar I Vaket Tillstånd” SHINING  has really encapsulated what we enjoy doing most as a label, looking back as it does to an earlier period, but with a completely fresh approach and different interpretation of what have now become classics in the field of Extreme Metal. SHINING fans are certainly not going to be disappointed when they hear what this album has to offer.”

More information about SHINING can be found on the band’s website at: www.shiningasylum.com and DARK ESSENCE RECORDS at http://www.darkessencerecords.no/

The official video for the track “Tillsammans Är Vi Allt” from SHINING’s album “VII / Född Förlorare” can be seen below or at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iULz19Cc7yw


Tracks from all of DARK ESSENCE RECORDS releases can be heard below and at http://soundcloud.com/dark-essence-records/sets/dark-essence-records



Dark Essence Records Contact and Promo: post@karismarecords.no
Dark Essence Records: www.darkessencerecords.no
Dark Essence SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/dark-essence-records
Dark Essence on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/darkessencerecords
Dark Essence Records Webshop: http://karismarecords.bigcartel.com/
Shining Website: www.shiningasylum.com
Niklas Kvarforth Website: www.kvarforth.com
Shining on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/shiningofficial
Shining Webshop: http://www.shininglegions.com
Shining on SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/shining-official
Official  YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/OfficialShining
Management and PR: patriciathomas@btinternet.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s