Dark Essence Records have today revealed details, including the artwork and track-listing, for “De gjenlevende”, the upcoming album from Norwegian Black-Folk Metallers GALAR.   Mixed and recorded at Bergen’s Conclave and Earshot Studio by producer and VULTURE INDUSTRIES frontman Bjørnar E. Nilsen, “De gjenlevende” (The Bereaved) is a follow up to 2010’s “Til Alle Heimsens Endar”,  and will be GALAR’s third-full length album.  Artwork for the album is by  Robert Høyem of graphic designers Overhaus.

“De gjenlevende”  sees GALAR’s founders M. Kristiansen (screams, guitars and bass) and A. B. Lauritzen (clean vocals, bassoon and grand piano) and drummer Phobos (AETERNUS, GRAVDAL, MALSAIN), joined by several session musicians that include both a string quintet and a horn quartet which fit in with the epic nature of the material, both musical and lyrical, that has been created for the six-track, concept album.  Entirely written in Norwegian, the track entitled “Ljós” will be an instrumental, whilst the other tracks are longer, and more epic than previous work by the band.

Jorge Blutaar, the band’s lyricist, recently briefly explained the concept behind the album, which draws its inspiration from Pan-European folklore, ontology, and elegies.   “Its five contemplative texts tell of the utter dreadfulness that haunts both the human mind and body when the season of winter holds every living thing in its grasp. Winter is the time of utter gloom, enfeeblement and inescapable death, which challenges mankind, beasts and plants equally. Yet, as long as there is life, there is hope, and eventually a new era of the Sun will bring to an end the seemingly eternal darkness of winter.  With the arrival of spring hope and life will flourish once more.  It is a portrayal of this cyclical process of transformation that is as old as the history of mankind itself”.   Fans worried about not understanding the Norwegian lyrics need have no concerns, as the album comes with an explanatory booklet.

Track listing for  “De gjenlevende”, whose estimated date of release is the 20th October,  is as follows:

  1. De gjenlevende
  2. Natt … og taust et forglemt liv
  3. Bøkens hymne
  4. Ljós
  5. Gjeternes tunge steg
  6.  Tusen kall til solsang ny

GALAR recently recruited drummer Tomas Myklebust (ex-EMANCER, live session drums with VULTURE INDUSTRIES and VRIED), and he Kristiansen and Lauritzen as a full-time member of the band.

More information about GALAR can be found on the band’s website at  or on Facebook at


Fan-filmed footage of GALAR performing the track “Ingen Siger Vart Vunnin” at the Phantoms of Pilsen Festival in 2011 can be seen below and at


The DARK ESSENCE RECORDS SoundCloud player contains tracks from all the label’s releases and can be heard below and at


Galar Website:
Galar Facebook:
Galar SoundCloud:
Galar YouTube:
Galar Webshop:
Galar MySpace:
Band Contact & Booking:
Dark Essence contact:
Dark Essence Records:
Dark Essence SoundCloud:
Dark Essence Facebook:
Dark Essence Webshop:
Dark Essence Records KlickTrack:


  1. […] Here’s the rest of the press release from Patricia Thomas Band Management: […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s