Norway’s Dark Essence Records have announced the signing of the Ukrainian band RATTENFÄNGER, and the Bergen-based label is set to release their debut album “Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum” in late October/early November of this year.   Although RATTENFÄNGER is a new band, its lineup of Thurios on guitars, Krechet on bass, Vlad on drums and keyboards, and Roman on guitars and vocals, has a depth of musical experience behind them that most bands would envy, hailing as they do from cult acts such as DRUDKH, BLOOD OF KINGU, HATE FOREST and DARK AGES.

According to Dark Essence Records, if, after seeing this pedigree, anyone assumes that they know what to expect  from RATTENFÄNGER, they would most likely be off target, because this band is a very different beast indeed.  Inevitably there will be nuances from the members other projects, and comparisons can also be made with bands such as CELTIC FROST, early DARKTHRONE, ASPHYX, WINTER, BOLTHROWER and NIHILIST amongst others,  but RATTENFÄNGER, is the epitome of old-school death metal  and “Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum” has its own, very distinctive, sound.  It is pitch black and bone crushingly brutal. It is Death Metal in its original form – and it is devastating.  A track from the album can be heard at http://soundcloud.com/dark-essence-records/rattenf-nger-grimorium-verum and on the player above.

The name RATTENFÄNGER is taken from the legend of the Pied Piper of Hamelin (Rattenfänger von Hameln), who was hired by the townsfolk of Hameln, Germany, to rid the town of the rats that had overrun it.  Unfortunately he is deceived and cheated of his payment, and he exacts a dreadful revenge on the citizens.

Very much in keeping with the period of the legend, the lyrics for “Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum” are in Latin and are written in style of the medieval poets, the thinkers and the troubadours/minstrels of old. Track listing for “Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum”, which was recorded during the spring and summer of 2012 in Kharviv in the Ukraine, and produced by RATTENFÄNGER, is as follows:

1. Coelo Affixus Sed Terris Omnibus Sparsus – intro
2. Grimorium Verum
3. Victa Lacet Virtus
4. Nunc Scio Tenebris Lux
5. Allegoria De Gula Et Luxuria
6. Clausae Patent
7. Deest Remedii Locus, Ubi, Quae Vitia Fuerunt, Mores Fiunt
8. Regno, Regnavi, Regnabo

For information, promo copies etc., please contact martin@karismarecords.no
Website: www.darkessencerecords.no

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s