Tags: , , ,

Hot on the heels of the release of the CODE’s latest full-length album “Flyblown Prince”, the genre-defying UK band have come up with an interesting way to look back at their very significant history by  releasing “nrcsss”, a five-track album that they have made available to download and enjoy for free.  

As the band explains, “nrcsss” is an acoustic album that takes a retrospective look at each period of CODES’ musical creativity, and is a thank you to the fans who have supported the band over the years:

Whilst not an official entry into the Code canon, ‘nrcsss’ is a sideways acoustic interpretation of a song from each era of Code’s history to date. Getting progressively more oblique as each track passes, it may not always be clear to see the link to the original inspiration, but the signs are there for the discerning listener.

Enjoy these selection of songs for free by way of a thank you for your continued support.

“nrcsss” is available for free download  at 

Track Listing as follows:

  1. Pollen
  2. Teeth
  3. God
  4. Blind
  5. Rat

To appreciate what fans can expect from “nrcsss”,  it is interesting to look back on the history of CODE,  which was formed in London in 2002 from the black ruminations of Aort’s early project, SEASONAL CODE.  Since then the band has drawn a creative line through a series of full-length studio albums starting with the brittle avant-garde of  2005’s “Nouveau Gloaming”, to 2009’s Spellemann-nominated “Resplendent Grotesque”, before moving  on to the mad theatre of 2013’s “Augur Nox”,  and the bleak, anaesthetic wash of 2015’s “mut”.  

In 2015 CODE also released a savage live tour recording, whilst 2017 saw the appearance of two EP’s “Lost Signal”, which was largely a live re-forging of the material from a new perspective, and “Under the Subgleam”  which served as a hint at what would eventually develop in  today’s “Flyblown Prince”.

Which brings us to June 2021 and the release of CODE’s fifth full-length album.  Released on Dark Essence Records “Flyblown Prince”  is a perverse fairy tale of an album that guides its listeners through the twists and turns of a dark and ghoulish nightmare fantasy of cinematic proportions.

With a lineup on “Flyblown Prince” that includes Aort on Guitars, Lordt on Drums, Syhr on Bass and Wacian on Vocals, with guitarist Andras providing support on the recordings, CODE have succeeded in creating  an ever-shifting soundscape of moods and violent aggression.  It is a progressive album, both musically and technically, and one the likes of which hasn’t been heard in years, and is, quite possibly,  the most intense and extreme album the band has ever produced. 

Cover  art for “Flyblown Prince”  is by Kristina Pavleska, layout by Costin Chioreanu and photography by Julie Cottrell, and the album is available in CD, Digital and Vinyl formats from all the usual retailers and streaming services, as well as directly from Dark Essence Records at:

US Webshop:

Tracklisting is as follows:

1. Flyblown Prince
2. Clemency & Atropy
3. By the Charred Stile
4. Rat King
5. From the Next Room
6. Dread Stridulate Lodge
7. Scold’s Bride
8. The Mad White Hair

More information about CODE can be found on the band’s Facebook page at 

Additional Information
Code  on Facebook:
Code on Bandcamp:
Band contact and booking:
Dark Essence contact: 
Dark Essence Records:
Dark Essence on Facebook:
Dark Essence Records Bandcamp:
Dark Essence Records YouTube:
Dark Essence Records Instagram:
Dark Essence Records Twitter:
Dark Essence SoundCloud:
Dark Essence Records Webshop:
Dark Essence Records North American Webshop:
Dark Essence Records Australian Webshop:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s