Posted: March 21, 2016 in OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASES, RAGNAROK, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Ragnarok AlbumPR

Norwegian Black Metal veterans RAGNAROK are streaming their upcoming eighth full-length album “Psychopathology” in its entirety ahead of its release on the 25th March.  The album, which is being streamed exclusively by Terrorizer magazine can be heard at

RAGNAROK guitarist Bolverk had this to say about the album:

“The new Ragnarok album follows in the footsteps of its predecessor ‘Malediction’. A mix of old Ragnarok and newer inspiration. The title of the album is ‘Psychopathology’, a term which in short means to dissect someone’s mind. A couple of lines of text from the title track are: “I’m inside your mind. I dissect your soul,” and one of the points of the lyrics is that sometimes the cure is worse than the disease. This is by no means a concept album, but most of the lyrics can be associated with madness or deviation in some form or another. To make it very brief: ‘Dominance and Submission’ is about sadomasochism. ‘The Eighth of the Seven Plagues’ and ‘Heretic’ are about religion. ‘Where Dreams go to Die’ is about madness. ‘Lies’ and ‘I Hate’ are pretty self-explanatory. ‘Into the Abyss’ is about the dark path that most of us are on. ‘Infernal Majesty’ is a tribute to our master. ‘Blood’ is about sacrifice. ‘My Creator’ has some very personal lyrics written by Jontho, while the other lyrics are written by (myself) Bolverk”.

The eleven-track album was recorded at the Endarker Studio in Sweden with MARDUK bassist Devo at the helm and is the first time that founder Jontho, one of Norwegian Black Metal’s most recognizable drummers,  is not to be found behind the drumkit.  In a surprise announcement last year, Jontho took up the mantle of frontman, and relinquished his drummer role to DAUDEN’s Malignant .  On guitars is RAGNAROK stalwart Bolverk, whilst bassist DezeptiCunt makes his final appearance with the band.

Tracklisting for “Psychopathology” as follows:

1. Dominance and Submission
2. I Hate
3. Psychopathology
4. My Creator
5. Infernal Majesty
6. Heretic
7. Into The Abyss
8. The Eighth Of The Seven Plagues
9. Lies
10. Blood
11. Where Dreams Come To Die

Concurrently with “Psychopathology” Agonia Records will also release a special RAGNAROK retrospective compilation album titled titled “Chaos and Insanity Between 1994-2004”, which features a rare collection of the band’s early demos and EPs. It will be available in Limited Edition black Vinyl, as well as in a red vinyl version which will be limited to 133 hand numbered copies.

Tracklisting for “Chaos and Insanity Between 1994-2004” as follows:
I.Pagan Land demo 1994
2.Pagan Land
3.From The Darkest Deep
4.Et Vinterland I Nord
5.Hammerens Slag
II.Various Unreleased tracks:
7.Et Vinterland I Nord (Ørevox version)
8.Under The Wings of Satan (pre-production)
9.Fainted Eyes (Celtic Frost cover)
10.Live 2004

 12 Jacket (3mm Spine) [GDOB-30H3-007].eps

Artwork for “Psychopahtology” is by the Brazilian graphic artist Marcelo Vasco (Slayer, Machine Head, Dimmu Borgir), and the album will be available in Jewel Case CD and Limited Edition black vinyl formats as well as in transparent brown vinyl with red, yellow, white and blue splatter, strictly limited to 133 hand-numbered copies.  Additionally,  available  will be  a  CD BOX which will be limited to 666 copies and which will include “Psychopathology”  in CD format, a logo pin, poster, booklet with rare photos and old interviews, and the bonus compilation CD “Chaos and Insanity Between 1994-2004”.

Both “Psychopathology” and  “Chaos and Insanity Between 1994-2004″along with newly designed merch are now available to pre-order from

Jontho recently had this to say about fans can expect from “Psychopathology”: ” I can say with absolute certainty that this album will be the best in RAGNAROK’s career to date. It is the result of dedication, hard work, and the musical skills of our lineup, and is the next stage in the band’s development, both musically and lyrically. “Psychopathology” is about to unleash total chaos upon you as it invites you to dive deeper into the dark recesses of the human mind”.

RAGNAROK’s next live appearances will be:
20-21 May: Steelfest Open Air, Finland
01-03 July:  With Full Force Festival, Germany
22 – 24 September:  Mörkaste Småland, Sweden

They are also scheduled to hit the road in South America in July, dates to be announced shortly.

More information about RAGNAROK can be found on the band’s Facebook page at  or on their  website at

The official video for the title track from RAGNAROK’s seventh full-length album “Collectors of the King” can be seen below and at 


Eleven tracks spanning over two decades of RAGNAROK’s career can be heard below and at


Ragnarok CombinedPR

Management Contact:
For promo copies:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s