Tags: , , , ,

With their third-full length album “In the Hollow of a Wave” having hit the streets on Karisma Records almost year ago, Norwegian rockers MONSTEREO have decided that, on the 7th September, they will celebrate with a new, never -before released digi single. 

As the band explains:

We decided to mark the occasion of the anniversary of the release of “In the Hollow of a Wave”  with a B-side taken from the original recordings. The tune is called “The Mirror Black” and it has a late summer-ish ’90s vibe, layered with electric guitars and tons of acoustic guitars, some mellow piano and tasteful mellotron. And of course, the bendy solo guitar that can be heard running through a Leslie speaker.

Written by our guitarist and vocalist Ola Utaaker Segadal , it was a hard tune to have to omit from the album and we  discussed it for weeks, but eventually we had to accept that we needed to remove two tracks in order to fit the record on one vinyl, so there you go!

The initial idea was to include the song on  our  fourth album, which is scheduled to be recorded some time during 2023, but, as it transpired, Ola and Øyvind had written so many new songs that it would have been hard to fit these two in. But we really like the track, so it is nice to release “The Mirror Black” in this way instead of just hiding it away.

“The Mirror Black”  is produced, mixed and mastered by Iver Sandøy, who also plays mellotron and percussions on the track, and was recorded at the Duper Studio in January 2020. With additional recordings in the  Solslottet studio and in Ola’s house later the same year, and with artwork by Robert Høyem, “The Mirror Black” can be downloaded or streamed from a number of services at

To further mark the occasion MONSTEREO are scheduled to play the following two shows:

Fri 9 Sept at Hulen in Bergen
Details at

Sat 10 Sept at Revolver in Oslo
Details at

Supporting  MONSTEREO in Bergen will be GREEN SKY ACCIDENT, whilst joining them at the Oslo show will be fellow Karisma Records artists KOSMODOME.

MONSTEREO’s lineup includes Ola Utaaker Segadal on lead vocals and electric guitars, Øyvind Aase Fluge on electric guitars, Jørgen Stangeland Bach on Bass guitar, and Jon Bolstad on Drums and more details about the band can be found on their Facebook page at, or on their website at 

A  video for the track “A Sudden Rush”, from MONSTEREO’s 2021 album “In the Hollow of a Wave” can be seen below and at

Additional Information
Band Contact:
Karisma Records contact: 
Karisma Records:
Karisma Records Facebook:
Karisma Records Bandcamp:
Karisma Records on YouTube:
Karisma Records Twitter:
Karisma on SoundCloud:
Karisma Records Webshop:
Karisma Records US Webshop:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s