Posts Tagged ‘Horror Metal’


With the release date for CREST OF DARKNESS’ seventh full-length album “Welcome the Dead” having been brought forward to the 25th November, the band has released a video for the title track.  Directed by Anders Børresen for MONITORmeda, the video for “Welcome the Dead” can be seen below and on CREST OF DARKNESS’  YouTube channel at

Commenting on the video, founder and frontman Ingar Amlien had this to say: “We wanted to make a video that offers a glimpse into the dark world of CREST OF DARKNESS.  Perhaps we are just story tellers recounting a fairytale,  and the video can certainly be viewed and enjoyed at that level, but we are also  touching on aspects of Life itself and those eternal questions that people ask themselves about life and death and the meaning of it all.

“We might not have all the answers, and in all honesty we don’t even want to pretend that we do, but what we do want is to make people think for themselves, and find their own answers .  Let’s face it, we are all Gods.  Each of us builds their own universe, and it just happens that the world of CREST OF DARKNESS is my universe”.

Recorded at the at MLP Studio by Nils H. Mæhlum, and mastered at the Kvålsonic Lab by Tom Kvålsvoll, the nine-track album promises to be the heaviest, darkest and most introspective album in the band’s twenty plus year history.    It will be released on My Kingdom Music in both CD and Digital formats, as well as a double LP format which will feature a special bonus track.

With artwork that features  the strange and disturbing Zombie Foetus sculptures created by the Italian artist Andrea Falaschi, tracklisting on “Welcome the Dead” is as follows:

1. Welcome The Dead
2. Chosen By The Devil
3. Scourged And Crucified
4. My Black Bride
5. Borrowed Life
6. The Almighty
7. Memento Mori
8. The Noble Art
9. Katharsis


“Welcome the Dead” includes a guest appearance  by Norwegian actor Espen Reboli Bjerke, well known for his extensive work in films, theatre, radio and Television.  Bjerke, who also won a Spelleman Award, the Norwegian equivalent of the Grammies, performs the  spoken part on “Katharsis”,  the closing track on the album.


Amlien, whose illustrious musical history started with the legendary CONCPTION, and includes  ROQUEFIRE and  AMLIEN’s INFERNO,  confirms that “Welcome the Dead” has a particular significance for him:  ” I’ve put a hell of a lot of myself and my emotions  into this album, even more so than usual.  I’ve always felt that when we are on stage, we create a sort of magic, and this time we have been able to transfer that magic to the recordings.  You could say this is my personal Black Mass”.

CREST OF DARKNESS’ lineup of  Amlien on bass and vocals, Rebo on guitars, Bernhard (ex- PALE FOREST) on drums, and Kristian Wentzel on keyboards,  will celebrate the release of “Welcome the Dead” with a show special Friday the 13th show at Retro in Raufoss, Norway in January.

More information about CREST Of Darkness can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

“Welcome the Dead” is now available to order from in CD and 2LP formats and in digital format at on release, as well all the usual retailers.

Nine tracks tracing the history of CREST OF DARKNESS, can be heard below and on the band’s SoundCloud page at

whilst the official playlist, which includes the  band’s entire catalogue can be heard on Spotify at


My Kingdom Music:
Band Contact and Booking:
Management and Booking: