Tags: , , , , ,

Norwegian Prog Rock duo JORDSJØ are steeped in the traditions of the kind of Nordic Prog rock that emerged during the last century, but that doesn’t mean that the music produced by multi instrumentalist Håkon Oftung (TUSMØRKE, BLACK MAGIC) and drummer Kristian Frøland rests there.  Far from it, because what JORDSJØ have managed to do is take what was best from that era’s Prog rock, and make it entirely their own by adding a folk-inspired twist to a plethora of interesting melodies.

And two weeks from now, the 7th May to be precise, JORDSJØ’s third full-length album “Pastoralia” will hit the streets on Karisma Records.  But in the meantime, band and label have released another track from the album to whet the fan’s appetites.

The track in question is “Beitemark”, and  JORDSJØ  gave us this insight into it:

“Beitemark” is about nostalgia and the desire to gradually leave behind the monotony of daily life with its trivial chores, and to rise up into the starlit sky.  On this song, we have actively used analogue Space Echo to give it an extra cosmic vibe in order to contrast the simple, down to earth depictions of local nature and the surging emotions  of the final part of the song.

The single “Beitemark” can be downloaded or streamed from a number of digital platforms at

“Pastoralia” sees JORDSJØ  moving  further into a more jazzy, progressive  musical territory as the band creates  an album that is a musical journey that ranges from minimalist mellotron passages to a full on rock tempest.   It is an album based on dreams, a longing for freedom and the fictional place “Pastoralia”, where every day is like tropical nights in Northern Norway, where the forest people dance around campfires.

The album was recorded and produced in its entirety between March and November 2020 in the basement of Bjørnerød Gård in Våler, Østfold by JORDSJØ themselves, and joining the duo on “Pastoralia” are a number of guests including Ola Mile Bruland (ACTIONFREDAG), Håkon Knutzen, Vilde Mortensen Storesund, Mats Lemjan, Christian Meaas Svendsen and Åsa Ree (MEER, TUSMØRKE, WOBBLER).

With artwork by  Sindre Foss Skancke, tracklisting for “Pastoralia” is as follows:

  1. Prolog
  2. Skumring i Karesuando
  3. Mellom Mjødurt, Marisko og Søstermarihånd
  4. Pastoralia
  5. Fuglehviskeren
  6. Beitemark
  7. Vettedans
  8. Jord III

“Pastoralia” will be available in CD, Digital and black Vinyl formats as well as in a blue Vinyl version which will be limited to 600 copies.  It is now available to pre-order from the following:

US Webshop: 

More information about JORDSJØ can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

A video for the track ” Hulderheimen”  from JORDSJØ’s self-titled 2015 release can be seen at

Promo and other information:
Karisma Records contact: 
Karisma Records:
Karisma Records Facebook:
Karisma Records Bandcamp:
Karisma Records on YouTube:
Karisma Records Instagram:
Karisma Records Twitter:
Karisma on SoundCloud:
Karisma Records Webshop:
Karisma Records US Webshop:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s