Posts Tagged ‘Ambient’

Fans of US Total Occultic Mechanical Blasphemers T.O.M.B, have today been given the chance to hear a second track from the band’s upcoming album “Terror Winds”, which is due for release on Dark Essence Records on the 2nd December.

The title of the single, “Hatred to All”  is a clear indication of the thoughts and emotions that lie behind the track, as T.O.M.B explain:

 “Hatred to All”  is an anthem to those visions and values that shaped the foundation of early 90’s black metal.  With a ruthless rabid intent, the malice behind the music of the song embodies acts of aggression without borders.  It embraces a freedom of unrestrained anger and ill will toward everyone and everything regardless of gender, race, religion, moral beliefs or political stances.  

“Hatred to All” can be downloaded or streamed from a number of services at

As well as below and on YouTube at

A follow up to 2020’s “The Thin Veil”,  T.O.M.B’s latest album “Terror Winds”, is the  seventh full-length release from a band known for its exploration of esoteric matters  such as death, paranormal activity and occult practices, and who, with over twenty years of making music, have created a sound that combines Black Metal with elements of  Dark Ambient, Doom, Death, Industrial and Power Electronics.

Bringing all their experience to bear  on “Terror Winds”, T.O.M.B have created an album that has the authentically dangerous feel of early 90s Black Metal.  Combine that with a powerful wave of ambient keyboards and classic T.O.M.B. noise, and you have an album filled with symphonic ambience and necromantic noise soundscapes. It is both horrific and spellbinding in a way that only a band with the  reputation as one of the top innovators in the field of modern-day Black Metal can produce.

With a lineup that includes No-One, B. Zimimay, Tyler B and Samantha Viola, “Terror Winds” was recorded live at the Ossuary Studios in New York City and mastered by Tore Stjerna at Necromorbus Studios in Sweden. 

With  artwork by Nestor Avalos, tracklisting for “Terror Winds” is as follows:

1. Terror Winds
2. In the Ugly Dark
3. Wraiths
4. Hatred to All
5. Frost Tyrants
6. Reincarnation

“Terror Winds” will be available in CD, LP and Digital formats, and is now available to pre-order from:

US Webshop: 
Updatable Pre-Order Links:

More information about T.O.M.B can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

The official video for the track “Pestilence” from T.O.M.B’s 2020 album “The Thin Veil” can be seen below and at

Additional Information
T.O.M.B on Facebook:
Band contact and booking:
Dark Essence contact: 
Dark Essence Records:
Dark Essence on Facebook:
Dark Essence Records Bandcamp:
Dark Essence Records YouTube:
Dark Essence Records Instagram:
Dark Essence Records Twitter:
Dark Essence SoundCloud:
Dark Essence Records Webshop:
Dark Essence Records North American Webshop:
Dark Essence Records Australian Webshop:

Five the Hierophant PR1

Dark Essence Records have set the 22nd September as the release date for “Over Phlegethon”,  the debut full-length album from FIVE THE HIEROPHANT, who recently signed to the Norwegian label, known for its uncanny ability to sniff out promising new talent to add to its roster of established and iconic bands.

With “Over Phlegethon”,  the UK Trio have brought the full weight of their ritualistic soundscapes to bear. It is a dark and devastating album,  imbued with Psychedelic Black Metal, Jazz, Post Metal and Ambient,  all of which, combined with the band’s trademark heavy riffs, drone-like atmospheres and a Black Metal intensity, reveal a sound and atmosphere that is unique to FIVE THE HIEROPHANT.

This uniqueness if further emphasized by the unusual array of instruments used by the band, whose lineup is composed of Chris on drums, temple bells, djembe, shakers and gong, Mitch on  bass and effects, and  महाकाली on guitars, bowed guitars, rag-dung, violin and  grand piano noise.

“Over Phlegethon” was recorded and mixed at Scream Studios in London.  The cover art for the album is a painting entitled “Dust Lickers” by Odd Nerdrum.   Track listing is as follows:

1. Queen over Phlegethon
2. Vampire
3. Seafarer
4. Der Geist der stets Verneint
5. Sepulchre
6. Omen Tree

Five the Hierophant Artwork

More information about FIVE THE HIEROPHANT can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

Five the Hierophant PR

The video for the track “Witch’s Tale” from FIVE THE HIEROPHANT’s self-titled EP can be seen below and at

The self-titled “Five the Hierophant” EP can be heard below and at

Band Contact:
Dark Essence contact:
Dark Essence Records:
Dark Essence Records Bandcamp:
Dark Essence on Facebook:
Dark Essence on YouTube:
Dark Essence Records Webshop:
Dark Essence Webshop North America:
Dark Essence Records KlickTrack:
Dark Essence SoundCloud:

Photo by Randi S. H. Veland

KARISMA RECORDS, the Norwegian label that specialises in the more Progressive side of the music spectrum, has inked a deal with Jazz Prog Rock duo OSSICLES and is set to release a follow up to the band’s 2012 debut  “Mantlepiece”.  The band will be entering the studio in the summer to begin recording and it is expected that the new, as yet untitled album, will hit the streets towards the end of the year.

Formed in 2011 by cousins Sondre Veland on drums, percussion, vocals and keyboards, and Bastian Veland on guitars, vocals, bass, upright bass and keyboards, OSSICLES is, according to the band, a constantly evolving project that is influenced by genres as varied as jazz, rock, avent-garde,ambient, noise and minimalism.   “Mantlepiece”, which was a double album released on OSSICLES’ own label, No Weather Records,  was largely written when the two cousins were around the ages of 16/17, but also includes later material, as well as tracks written during the recording process.  On the strength of this release OSSICLES was invited by MIKE PORTNOY to appear at the Progressive Nation at Sea Festival in 2014, an opportunity the band sadly had to turn down due to the high cost of travelling to the USA to join the ship in Miami.

More information about OSSICLES can be found on the band’s website at

Photo by Randi S. H. Veland

The official video for the track “Watersoul II” from OSSICLES debut album “Mantlepiece” can be seen below and at


Tracks from Karisma Records releases can be heard below and at


Ossicles Website:
Ossicles Facebook:
Band contact and booking:
Promo and other information:
Karisma Records:
Karisma Records Webshop:
Karisma Records KlickTrack Store:
Karisma Records on  SoundCloud:
Karisma Records on Facebook:
Karisma Records Webshop: